Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Ash Family

Audiobook
When a young woman leaves her family to join a secret off-the-grid community headed by an enigmatic leader, she discovers that belonging comes with a deadly cost, in this "stunning debut," (The New Yorker) "perfect for fans of Philip Roth's American Pastoral and the film Martha, Marcy, May, Marlene"(Booklist, starred review).
At nineteen, Berie encounters a seductive and mysterious man at a bus station near her home in North Carolina. Shut off from the people around her, she finds herself compelled by his promise of a new life. He ferries her into a place of order and chaos: the Ash Family farm. There, she joins a community living off the fertile land of the mountains, bound together by high ideals and through relationships she can't untangle. Berie—now renamed Harmony—renounces her old life and settles into her new one on the farm. She begins to make friends. And then they start to disappear.

"An excellent debut, Molly Dektar probes life in a cult with a masterful hand, excavating the troubled mind of a young woman," (Publishers Weekly). The Ash Family explores what we will sacrifice in the search for happiness, and the beautiful and grotesque power of the human spirit as it seeks its ultimate place of belonging. "A captivating and haunting tale," (New York Journal of Books).

Expand title description text
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9781508280378
  • File size: 273956 KB
  • Release date: April 9, 2019
  • Duration: 09:30:44

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9781508280378
  • File size: 273984 KB
  • Release date: April 9, 2019
  • Duration: 09:35:44
  • Number of parts: 8

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

subjects

Fiction Literature

Languages

English

When a young woman leaves her family to join a secret off-the-grid community headed by an enigmatic leader, she discovers that belonging comes with a deadly cost, in this "stunning debut," (The New Yorker) "perfect for fans of Philip Roth's American Pastoral and the film Martha, Marcy, May, Marlene"(Booklist, starred review).
At nineteen, Berie encounters a seductive and mysterious man at a bus station near her home in North Carolina. Shut off from the people around her, she finds herself compelled by his promise of a new life. He ferries her into a place of order and chaos: the Ash Family farm. There, she joins a community living off the fertile land of the mountains, bound together by high ideals and through relationships she can't untangle. Berie—now renamed Harmony—renounces her old life and settles into her new one on the farm. She begins to make friends. And then they start to disappear.

"An excellent debut, Molly Dektar probes life in a cult with a masterful hand, excavating the troubled mind of a young woman," (Publishers Weekly). The Ash Family explores what we will sacrifice in the search for happiness, and the beautiful and grotesque power of the human spirit as it seeks its ultimate place of belonging. "A captivating and haunting tale," (New York Journal of Books).

Expand title description text